Pap Smear Test in Japan

Today, I went for a uterine cervix cancer screening for the first time. It’s known as a 子宮頸がん健診 in Japan. I translated it as pap smear test for my blog entry title. I think it’s a pap smear test at least…

How is the test going to be like? How long is it going to take? Is it going to hurt?
Is the nurse/doctor going to be female or male? Plus, I was going for the test with other ladies from my prefectural office so how are we going to be ushered? Are they going to ensure our privacy?

I had many questions in my head and was a little worried. However, when I looked at the genki faces of the ladies coming out of the checkup bus while I waited in line, I knew that the medical examination was nothing too serious. The staff also told us to go to the toilet first if we need to. I can only imagine the mess if one peed during the test.

We waited outside the bus with our foldable chairs a good width apart (COVID-19 countermeasures) and I was soon asked to enter the checkup bus and sit down inside. There were seats that look something like this inside.

I waited. I was the only one in the bus. There were curtains in front of me that had ←奇数の健診番号 / 偶数の健診番号 → labels on them. This means our checkup number determines which curtain to pass through. Odd numbers one way and Even numbers the other. Only that I always get the Japanese word for them confused. Is an even number called kisuu or guusuu?? I think it’s guusuu…

I waited. Silence. No one asked me to step through the curtains to the other side of the bus. Am I supposed to go in or wait for someone to call me in? I waited and got unsure… what if the nurses are waiting for me to go in?

I poked my head out of the bus to ask the usher outside the bus if I’m supposed to wait at the seats. He said yes. Just then, someone from the other side of the curtains came out to the waiting area. I’m glad I waited.

I entered through two sets of curtains and came to a chair that looks like this.

I could hear movement and voices from the other side of the curtains. I was told to disrobe (just the bottom) and to climb into the chair. I recommend wearing a skirt so you can just pull it back, instead of having to remove your trousers, belt, etc.

The staff on the other end guided my feet to the feet stand and asked me to open my legs as wide as possible.

The picture above gives you an image of how it was like. You don’t see them, they don’t see you. Only that my chair was slanted back way more than this illustration. And there’s no blanket like in the picture, because your lower half is completely on the other side of the curtain.

As for the actual process, it did not hurt at all and felt like it only took 3 minutes or so. I spent more time waiting, disrobing, etc. If you would like to know more about the details, feel free to send me a message.

There should be free uterine cervix cancer screening for all ladies of specified ages in your area if you live in Japan (and for many other countries!). Please find out and get screened to protect yourself!

With love,
Torazakana

Leave a comment